Your Number one Newspaper

23 Players Named For Lone Stars Clash

By Morlai Kargbo

Head Coach of Sierra Leone’s national male football team, Sellas Tetteh Teive, has named the Leone Stars 23-Man squad to face the Lone Stars of Liberia in the 2022 Qatar FIFA world Cup preliminary qualifier on the 4th and 8th September, 2019.

Sierra Leone will first travel to Liberia for the first of two clashes at the Samuel K. Doe stadium in Monrovia on the 4th of September and play the return leg, to be hosted by Sierra Leone, at the Siaka Stevens Stadium in Freetown on Sunday, 8th September.

Prior to the release of the final list of players on Saturday evening, fourteen (14) foreign based players had been called up by the technical team of the national team, to be joined by nine home based players.

2019 Premier League champions, East End Lions, have the most number of home based players called, with five, including Mohamed N. Kamara, Yeami Dunia, Abu Dumbuya, Mohamed Alimamy Bundu and AIK Freetong on loan striker, Musa N. Kamara alias Tombo.

Alpha Conteh of Bo Rangers, Ibrahim Mansaray of FC Kallon, Edmond Michael from Old Edwardians and Alhaji Sesay (unattached) made the list of the 9-man home based players selected.

The team according to the media department of the FA in a press release dated Saturday, 31st August, will depart Sierra Leone for Liberia on Monday, 2nd September, 2019.

The head to head stats between the two national teams, favours the Lone Stars of Liberia, with eight wins, five draws and three defeats. The recent meeting between the two in a friendly in 2018 ended in a goalless draw.

Sierra Leone failed to qualify for the group stage of qualifiers for the 2018 FIFA world cup in Russia after bowing out against Chad on an away goal in October 2015.

Sellas Tetteh is making his second attempt as Leone Stars coach after a first stint as caretaker coach saw him narrowly miss out on qualifying the team to the African Cup Of Nations (AFCON) in Gabon in 2017.

The FIFA U-20 world cup winner has a primary task of taking the Leone Stars to the next African Cup of Nations in Cameron in 2021 and has to do so in a group including Nigeria, Benin and Lesotho.



  1. Simeon Kaku Vasalund IF Sweden Winger/Striker
  2. Umaru Bangura (Zangalay) F.C Zurich Switzerland Defender
  3. Mustapha Dumbuya Phoenix Rising FC USA Defender
  4. Mohamed Buya Turay Djurgenden Sweden Striker
  5. Hassan Milla Sesay HIFK Finland Midfielder
  6. Solomon Z. Morris Tolous Rodeo France Goalkeeper
  7. George Davies (Kweku) St. Pultin Austria Winger
  8. Ibrahim Conteh (Markfish) Pursipura Indonesia Midfielder
  9. John Kamara Keshla FC Azerbaijan Midfielder
  10. Kwame Quee Vikingur Iceland Midfielder
  11. Ishmael Koroma (JawJaw) Atvidabergs FF Sweden Defender
  12. Mustapha Bundu Aarhus GF Denmark Striker
  13. Kei Ansu Kamara Colorado Rapid USA Striker
  14. Abdul Buduski Sesay OLS Jalkapallo Finland Striker
  15. Mohamed N. Kamara East End Lions Sierra Leone Goalkeeper
  16. Alhaji Sesay Unattached England Goalkeeper
  17. Yeami Dunia East End Lions Sierra Leone Defender
  18. Alpha Bedor Conteh Bo Rangers Sierra Leone Defender
  19. Abu Diaby Dumbuya East End Lions Sierra Leone Midfielder
  20. Alimamy Azonto Bundu East End Lions Sierra Leone Midfielder
  21. Edmond Micheal Old Edwardians FC Sierra Leone Midfielder
  22. Ibrahim Mansaray FC Kallon Sierra Leone Defender
  23. Musa N. Kamara (Tombo) AIK Freetown, Sierra Leone Striker

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.